African Athletics Masters Championships : Nigeria to feature 30 athletes, 3 officials


  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7341
The Nigeria Athletics Masters (NAM), on Friday listed no fewer than 30 masters athletes and three officials for the forthcoming 2017 African Masters Championships.

The championships will hold from Aug.25 to Aug.27 in Abidjan, Cote d’Ivoire.

Uruemu Adu, NAM’s Secretary stated this in Lagos that the Masters athletes will not let the country down at the championships.

Nigeria won 30 gold, six silver and three bronze medals at the 2016 edition and clinched the second position on the medal table.

Masters athletics is an event for veteran athletes in the track and field, road running and cross country.

The competitions usually featured five-year age groups beginning from the age of 35.

Men as old as 105 and women in their 100s have competed in running, jumping and throwing events in some countries.

Those listed by NAM in the female category are: Obeleye Horsfall, Eurenia Iheagwam and Ifeanyi John-Udueze to feature in discus/shot-put, Mercy Edward for 5000m, 1500m and 4x100m, Irene Aneto 10,000m, 5,000m and 4x100m.

Safiya Yahaya-Kongoila will feature in 100m, 200m and 4x100m, Elizabeth Johnson will feature in Javelin /Hammer, Asigobaka Briggs is for hammer/shot-put, while Linda Osifo is for long jump and Triple Jump.

In the male category are: Azi Ishaya for 10,000m and 10km road race, Dele Ige for triple jump, long jump and 4x100m.

Adeleke Abimbola, Oyewole Adeboye and Richard Ogunleye are for 100m, 200m, 4x100m and 4x400m.

Solomon Achi is for long jump, triple jump, 4x100m and 4x400m, Michael Ofili is for 100m and 4x100m, while Alexander Udjoh is for hammer, 400m and 4x400m.

Jade Niboro is for 100m and 4x100m, Akin Akindamola will feature in 200m, 400m and 4x400m, Dele Abubakar is for the 400m and 4x400m.

Others listed are: Ibrahim Aliyu, Richard Okoh, Idris Ibrahim, Adeleke Kalejaiye, Clifford Omoghiboria, Yakubu Suberu, Oladipupo Seriki, Reuben Esabunor, Emmanuel Agbon.

Samuel Ajayi, Aderibigbe Folawiyo, Kelvin Aniemeka, Solomon Nwokoma, Steady Idisi, Olusegun Ajiboye.

Solomon Aliyu is the team coach, Abubakar Aliyu will be the teams’ manager and Uruemu Adu is the head of delegation.


Quick Reply