Sexiest in Nollywood 2013: Tonto Dikeh, Yul Edochie wins


  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 94
Sexiest in Nollywood 2013: Tonto Dikeh, Yul Edochie wins
Posted on: January 11, 2014, 09:25:14 PM
The long wait is over! The quest for the Sexiest
man and woman in Nollywood for the year 2013 has
come to an end. We can now heave a sigh of relief
after months of dire expectation, guessing game
and wild permutation. The Sexiest woman, according to the votes that
came in from the readers through sms and cut-off
coupons from Vanguard newspaper is Tonto Dikeh,
while Yul Edochie emerged the Sexiest man in the
men’s category. Yul Edochie, Tonto Dike Tonto beat Ebube Nwagbo and Colette Orji who
came second and third respectively. Following the
first three women are Cynthia Agholor on 4th and
Stephanie Okereke on 5th. In the Men’s category, Yul Edochie overcame
challenges from Benson Okonkwo and Uti
Nwachukwu who came second and third
respectively. Odunlade Adekola and Ali Nuhu
completed the picture at fourth and fifth places
respectively. How it began The quest, as we like to call it, began with 25 men
and women who were nominated by our readers.
Actors that got the most votes over a period of one
month qualified to run in the quest. The 2013 edition of Sexiest in Nollywood paraded
25 actors: Yul Edochie, Ali Nuhu, Alex Ekubo,
Benson Okonkwo, Chigozie Atuanya, Ramsey Nouah,
Emeka Enyiocha, Frank Artus, Kenneth Okolie,
Gbenro Ajibade, Kalu Ikeagwu, John Dumelo, Pat
Attah, Joseph Benjamin, Sunkanmi Omobolanle, Van Vicker, O.C. Ukeje, Mike Ezuruonye, Majid Michel,
Odunlade Adekola, Bobby Obodo, Gideon Okeke, Uti
Nwachukwu, Michael Okon and Pope Odowondo
Junior. The list of actresses include: Uche Jombo, Anita
Joseph, Ebube Nwagbo, Biodun Okeowo, Colette
Orji, Stephanie Okereke, Jackie Appiah, Tonto
Dikeh, Queen Nwokoye, Queeneth Hilbert, Ejiro
Okurame, Angela Okorie, Nadia Buari, Yvonne
Nelson, Rita Dominic, Damilola Adegbite, Tope Osoba, Cynthia Agholor, Yvonne Okoro, Chita Agwu,
Maureen Cyril, Nuella Njubigbo, Amanda Ebeye,
Chika Agatha and Uche Iwuji. After the first two months of running profiles on
each of the contestant, the countdown began with
the first five people exiting the quest. The figure
moved from 25 to 20 then to 15. The last fifteen
people enjoyed a long stay in the quest after which
the countdown began again with a contestant exiting the game every until the final five emerged. The final five was made of Tonto Dikeh, Stephanie
Okereke, Cynthia Agholor, Colette Orji, and Ebube
Nwagbo for the Sexiest woman category. Yul
Edochie, Uti Nwachukwu, Odunlade Adekola, Benson
Okonkwo and Ali Nuhu made the final five for the
Sexiest man category. Past winners The Sexiest in Nollywood public opinion poll started
in 2008 and the maiden edition winners were
Genevieve Nnaji and Jim Iyke. Genevieve won the
crown as the Sexiest woman in Nollywood in 2008
followed by Ini Edo in second place and Mercy
Johnson in third. For the men, Emeka Ike and Desmond Elliot trailed
Jim Iyke as the first runner-up and second runner-
up. Following the success of the first edition demands
were high for us to do it again and we did. The
winners in 2009 were Omotola Jalade-Ekeinde and
Desmond Elliot. Omotola Jalade-Ekeinde beat Genevieve Nnaji and
Chika Ike to be crowned the Sexiest woman in
Nollywood 2009 while Desmond Elliot floored Chidi
Mokeme and Richard Mofe-Damijo to emerge the
Sexiest man in Nollywood 2009.